Joint Graduate School in Biodiversity and Biosecurity


Terrestrial ecology

Find below a description of our research in this area, and a list of potential supervisers.

There is a diverse range of research on the relationships between organisms and their environment. Some research is focussed on understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function, while other research is targeted at conserving native biodiversity, restoring ecosystems or understanding behavioural interactions. We have a particular focus on urban and island ecosystems, but encompass a diverse range of taxa, from fungi and yeasts to plants, insects, birds and bats.
 

Staff who conduct research in this area


University of Auckland staff

Dr Jacqueline Beggs
Email: j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Bruce Burns
Email: b.burns@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Brad Coombes
Email: b.coombes@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Todd Dennis
Email: t.dennis@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Anne Gaskett
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Greg Holwell
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz

Assoc Prof David O’Sullivan
Email: d.osullivan@auckland.ac.nz

Dr George Perry
Email: george.perry@auckland.ac.nz

Dr James Russell
Email: j.russell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Margaret Stanley
Email: mc.stanley@auckland.ac.nz

 

University of Auckland and Landcare Research staff (co-appointed)

Prof Bill Lee
Email: wg.lee@auckland.ac.nz

 

Landcare Research staff

Robyn Simcock
Email: simcockr@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Susan Wiser
Email: wisers@landcareresearch.co.nz