Joint Graduate School in Biodiversity and Biosecurity


Our staff

Staff at the Faculty of Science


School/department Name Research interests Email
School of Biological Sciences/School of Environment Sandra Anderson Animal-plant mutualisms, ecological ornithology, invasion dynamics sh.anderson@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Imogen Bassett Ecology of environmental weeds and invertebrates i.bassett@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof Jacqueline Beggs Ecological entomology, invasive insects & ecosystem function j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Kelly Booth Urban conservation, insects, dispersal in fragmented landscapes k.booth@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Souad Boudjelas Invasive species in the Pacific s.boudjelas@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences/School of Biological Sciences Prof Margaret Brimble Naturally occurring bioactive compounds m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Bruce Burns Forest ecology, landscape ecology, restoration ecology b.burns@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Kristal Cain Behaviour, evolution, ecology, hormones, birds k.cain@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences/School of Environment Em. Prof Mick Clout Conservation biology, invasive species ecology and management m.clout@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Rochelle Constantine cetacean behaviour, ecology and conservation r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Brad Coombes Environmental management and conservation, Sustainability and environmental justice, Environmental politics of Treaty settlement b.coombes@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Manpreet Dhami Bacterial symbioses mdhami@stanford.edu
Department of Statistics Assoc Prof Rachel Fewster Statistical ecology r.fewster@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Anne Gaskett Pollination, orchids, bryophytes, chemical ecology a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Greg Holwell Evolution of genitalia and weaponry, evolutionary ecology of terrestrial invertebrates g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz

School of Biological Sciences

Department of Statistics

Dr Steffen Klaere Measures and statistical methods in population genetics, phylogenetics biodiversity s.klaere@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Gavin Lear Microbial biogeography, microbial bioremediation
microbial diversity
g.lear@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Prof Gillian Lewis Microbiology, bacterial Community, diversity gd.lewis@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Cate Macinnis-Ng Drought impacts on native vegetation,
carbon fluxes in native forests
c.macinnis-ng@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Shyama Pagad Invasive species in the Pacific s.pagad@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment/School of Biological Sciences Prof. George Perry Plant ecology, spatial analysis and environmental modelling george.perry@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences/Department of Statistics Dr James Russell Island conservation, quantitative ecology, low density dynamics j.russell@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Anna Santure Evolutionary and conservation genetics a.santure@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Luitgard Schwendenmann Ecosystem ecology, carbon, water and nutrient cycling, tropical ecology l.schwendenmann@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences David Seldon Carabidae taxonomy, systematics and evolution d.seldon@auckland.ac.nz
School of Environment Dr Kevin Simon Freshwater and ecosystem ecology, watershed biogeochemistry, human influence on lakes and streams k.simon@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Margaret Stanley Invasion ecology, plant-animal interactions, animals in landscapes mc.stanley@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Shane Wright Quantifying rates of evolution, phylogentics of Oceania's woody plants sd.wright@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Co-appointed staff


Research area Name Research interests Email

School of Biological Sciences

Landcare Research

Assoc Prof Thomas Buckley Terrestrial invertebrate systematic, molecular evolution, conservation genetics tbuc011@aucklanduni.ac.nz

School of Biological Sciences

Landcare Research

Dr Darren Ward Hymenoptera systematics and ecology wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz
School of Environment

Landcare Research

Assoc Prof Janet Wilmshurst Palaeoecology, vegetation change, plant-animal interactions wilmshurstj@landcareresearch.co.nz
School of Biological Sciences

Landcare Research

Prof Zhi-Qiang Zhang Animal biodiversity, behavioural/population ecology, mite taxonomy zhangz@landcareresearch.co.nz
Top

Staff at Landcare Research


Research area Name Research interests Email
Wildlife Ecology and Management Dr Dean Anderson Spatial ecology of animals andersond@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Peter Buchanan Fungal Taxonomy, wood decay fungi, fungal conservation buchananp@landcareresearch.co.nz
Wildlife Ecology and Management Dr Phil Cowan Invasive species ecology and management cowanp@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Trevor Crosby Diptera, freshwater insects crosbyt@landcareresearch.co.nz
Wildlife Ecology and Epidemiology Dr Al Glen Species interactions; Invasive species; Wildlife management glena@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Robert Hoare Lepidoptera systematics hoarer@landcareresearch.co.nz
Wildlife Ecology and Mangement Brian Hopkins Development of novel species-selective pest control agents hopkinsb@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biodiversity and Conservation John Innes Rats, Ecological Restoration, Forest Birds innesj@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Peter Johnston Fungal taxonomy, origin and evolution of New Zealand’s fungi, fungal nomenclature and databasing johnstonp@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Marie-Claude Lariviere Hemiptera systematics, entomology databases larivierem@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Rich Leschen Coleoptera systematics leschenr@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Eric McKenzie Taxonomy of plant pathogenic fungi, plant pathogens and biosecurity mckenziee@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Maj Padamsee Fungal Taxonomy, rust fungi, molecular systematics padamseem@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biodiversity and Conservation Dr Quentin Paynter Plant-insect interactions, impacts and environmental safety of biological control of weeds, invasion ecology paynterq@landcareresearch.co.nz
Wildlife Ecology and Management Dr Roger Pech Invasive mammal ecology and management pechr@landcareresearch.co.nz
Sustainability and Society Dr Robyn Simcock   simcockr@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Bevan Weir Fungal and bacterial taxonomy, molecular systematics weirb@landcareresearch.co.nz
Biosystematics Dr Zeng Zhao Nematode systematics zhaoz@landcareresearch.co.nz
Top