Joint Graduate School in Biodiversity and Biosecurity


Invertebrate systematics

Find below a description of our research in this area, and a list of potential supervisers.

Current research emphasises the systematics of insects and other land invertebrates using morphological and molecular approaches. Specific groups covered include: Diptera (flies), Hemiptera (bugs), Hymenoptera (parasitoids), Acari (mites) and Onychophora (velvet worms). Phasmatodea (stick insects), Coleoptera (beetles), Diptera (flies), Lepidoptera (moths), Hemiptera (bugs), Hymenoptera (parasitoids), Acari (mites) and Onychophora (velvet worms). Nematodes, Biogeography, phylogeography and speciation in land invertebrates is also being investigated.
 

Staff who conduct research in this area


University of Auckland staff

Dr Anne Gaskett
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Greg Holwell
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Margaret Stanley
Email: mc.stanley@auckland.ac.nz

University of Auckland and Landcare Research staff (co-appointed)

Assoc Prof Thomas Buckley
Email: tbuc011@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Landcare Research staff

Dr Trevor Crosby
Email: crosbyt@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Marie-Claude Larivière
Email: larivierem@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Shaun Forgie
Email: forgies@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Rich Leschen
Email: leschenr@landcareresearch.co.nz

Rosa Henderson
Email: hendersonr@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Robert Hoare
Email: hoarer@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Darren Ward
Email: wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Zhi-Qiang Zhang
Email: zhangz@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Zeng Zhao
Email: zhaoz@landcareresearch.co.nz