Joint Graduate School in Biodiversity and Biosecurity


Invasive species

Find below a description of our research in this area, and a list of potential supervisers.

There are a range of projects directed at understanding invasion processes, the ecology of invasive species and subsequent management strategies. Project areas include the pathways for insect and weed invasion, developing tools for assessing the potential for establishment, measuring ecological impact of exotic species, and population modelling of invasive species and biocontrol agents. Research is also aimed at developing control tools; classical biocontrol of weeds with insects and pathogens, host specificity and risk analysis of biocontrol agents on non-target species, bioherbicide products for inundative biocontrol of weeds and insecticides for invasive wasps and ants, so that managers can either eradicate or control species that do establish.

Other research is designed to help managers decide where and when to control invasive mammals, based on knowledge of their ecology and impacts. Research is conducted in collaboration with the Department of Conservation on public conservation land, and with other agencies and private groups to provide information for extending biodiversity outcomes by linking protected sites across the New Zealand landscape. Also a major component of the research aims to improve cost-effective control of agricultural pests. The research spans forest, dryland, alpine, and (lowland) braided river ecosystems. Modelling is used to predict the likely consequences of global change drivers, including climate change and land use change, for management of invasive mammals across major conservation and production ecosystems in New Zealand.
 

Staff who conduct research in this area


University of Auckland staff

 

Dr Jacqueline Beggs
Email: j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz

Prof Margaret Brimble
Email: m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Bruce Burns
Email: b.burns@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Anne Gaskett
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Greg Holwell
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr James Russell
Email: j.russell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Margaret Stanley
Email: mc.stanley@auckland.ac.nz

University of Auckland and Landcare Research staff (co-appointed)

 

Prof Bill Lee
Email: wlee615@aucklanduni.ac.nz
 
Dr Darren Ward
 

Landcare Research staff

 

Dr Sarah Dodd
Email: dodds@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Shaun Forgie
Email: forgies@landcareresearch.co.nz

Dr Quentin Paynter
Email: paynterq@landcareresearch.co.nz